Uhthuh Planets, A Jazz Suite

A Jazz Suite by "Doctuh" Michael Woods

“Doctuh” Michael Woods says, “Throughout music history there have been suites of music that are considered to be essential to the skill set of any serious performer on that given instrument. The Goldberg Variations by J.S. Bach and the 32 Beethoven piano sonatas constitute two such compilations of a meaningful body of work that a pianist must be aware of to validate their skills. It is my hope that in years to come any serious funk band will be expected to be able to perform the Uhthuh Planets Suite. This work is meant to be a treatise on funk.”

Dr. Michael Woods is the Director of Jazz Studies at Hamilton College in Clinton New York. His compositions have been performed by the Albany Symphony, the Pittsburgh New Music Ensemble, the Little Rock Symphony, the Tulsa Philharmonic, the Lafayette Symphony (Lafayette, IN), the Pro Musica Orchestra (Columbus, IN), the Central New York Jazz Orchestra, and the Salt City Jazz Collective

“Doctuh” Michael Woods – composer/bassist
Tom Bronzetti – guitar
Angelo Candela – trombone
Bob Cesari – saxophone
Rick Compton – drums
Jeff Stockham – trumpet
Tom Witkowski – piano

1. Outlook Avenue

2. But God

3. Flex

4. You Gotta Draw The Line

5. Piano I.Q.

6. I Need Options

7. Graceful Encounters

8. Enoch

9. Phunkeoplazty