The Silence Between

Pianist Kris Carlisle

“The music is not in the notes, but in the silence in between” – W.A. Mozart

4Tay Records is proud to present The Silence Between, a marvelous new collection of contemporary, programmatic music for piano performed by Dr. Kris Carlisle. This is part of his ongoing American Evolution project.

A native of California, he has performed throughout the United States, Canada, Europe, Australia, and Asia to great acclaim.

Specializing in contemporary piano music, his project “The American Evolution” focuses on how contemporary American composers work with traditional genres of composition. This project is now in its fourth phase – Programmatic Music for Piano. Previous phases include Piano Variations, the American Prize winning Piano Sonata album, and the Global Music Award, Silver Medal winning Piano Prelude album.

Kris Carlisle received his training at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music and the Claremont Graduate University. He has studied with such noted artists as Louanne Long, Mack McCray, Lita Guerra, and Susan Svrcek. He has been the winner of many competitions and the recipient of various awards including: the Martha Fischer-Tye Foundation Award; a Special Achievement in Musicology Award from the Kennedy Center, Washington D.C.; and a Georgia Music Teachers Steinway Piano Galleries Educator Grant. Dr. Carlisle is Director of Keyboard Studies at Berry College, Rome, GA. Visit him at

Track Listing:

***Suggested cuts for airplay

1. Dark/Light – Trent Hanna

2. Prelude No. 13 – Jason Bahr***

3. Blood on the Curb – Greg Simon – See note below

4. Haints in the Pines – Chris Ferebee***

The Language of Flowers – Matthew McCabe

5. Hibiscus

6. Lilac

7. Primrose

8. Love-lies-bleeding

9. Epilogue in A flat minor – Fahad Siadat***

10. Deep Into the Darkness Peering – Trent Hanna

11. Gliese 581c – Emily Doolittle***

12. Illustration I. – glass – Joshua Nuñez

13. Epilogue in C major – Fahad Siadat

14. Fumee D’Ambre Gris – Theodore Wiprud

15. Epilogue in B minor – Fahad Siadat

Please note that Blood on the Curb is misspelled on the CD package. Our apologies to composer Greg Simon for the error.