4Tay - Wallach - The Nightwatch

4Tay CD4010   UPC#61559401029

The Aurora Duo

Donna Fairbanks, Violin; Lysa Rytting, Harp

"...a pleasant survey of unhackneyed music...the Sonata, by Adrian Shaposhnikov...sounds like Ravel with a tinge of Slavic melancholy...The first movement (of the Donizetti) is a lovely aria in Donizetti's best manner, which Fairbanks sings with some charm: the second a sprightly cabaletta...(The Boren) sounds like a modern dance scores, liturgical mainly in its serene starkness. The most effective dance combines harp with pizzicato violin. Rytting creates an attractive, ghostly tone quality." - Fanfare

The greatly-anticipated debut recording from the superbAurora Duo presents unique and beautiful but rarely-heard repertoire for violin and harp. Acclaimed violinist Donna Fairbanks and harp virtuoso Lysa Rytting explore this repertoire in a musical journey around the world featuring compositions by America's Alan Hovhaness and Murray Boren, Italy's Gaetano Donizetti, France's Camille Saint-Saens, Argentina's Angel Lasala and Russia's Adrian Shaposhinikov.

    Sonata in G Major for Violin and Harp - Gaetano Donizetti
  1. Larghetto
  2. Allegro

  3. Sonata in D minor for Violin and Harp - Adrian Shaposhinikov
  4. Andante con moto
  5. Manuetto - Allegretto
  6. Allego molto

  7. Sonata, op. 406 - Alan Hovhaness
  8. Prelude
  9. Cantando
  10. Dance
  11. Lullaby
  12. Andante dolce

  13. Poema Del Pastor Coya* - Angel E. Lasala
  14. Con la Chola y El Changuito
  15. Quena
  16. Danzando

  17. Movements from the Liturgical Dance* - Murray Boren
  18. Dance 1
  19. Dance 2
  20. Dance 3
  21. Dance 4
  22. Dance 5

  23. Fantasie for Violin and Harp, op. 123 - Camille Saint-Saens
  24. * World Premiere Recording